Rotterdamse Hoek

Hotspot

Rotterdam was bombed on May 14, 1940. The rubble had to be removed. Inland vessels transported it to the Noordoostpolder and other places. The Urk – Kadoelen dike was not yet closed and a lot of rubble was needed to reinforce the inside of the dike and various polder roads.

A photo for story Rotterdamse Hoek

Because a lot of rubble was dumped and used in (and near) this bend of the dike, the polder workers gave this corner the name 'Rotterdamse Hoek'. 
“This so that no one would ever forget where the rubble came from.”

A photo for story Rotterdamse Hoek

The 7.5 meter high lighthouse marks the corner of Rotterdamse Hoek. The square brick lighthouse was built in 1950. The Rotterdam corner is a notorious place for sailors. Several ships have run into difficulties in this area. It is suggested that this place is "haunted". The Rotterdam corner is also referred to as “the last ships cemetery” in the Netherlands.

A photo for story Rotterdamse Hoek


rotterdamse hoek noordoostpolder urk netherlands windmill ijsselmeer lake water